The Queensland Government's Department of Communities, Disability Services and Seniors (DCDSS) commenced the development of the Human Service Quality Framework (the HSQF) in collaboration with the human services sector in 2009. In 2013 the HSQF was implemented as an inclusive system for assessing and improving the quality of all human services across the state.

The HSQF incorporates:

  • A set of quality standards that cover the core elements of human services delivery
  • An inclusive assessment process to measure the performance of service providers against the standards
  • An independent third-party certification, annual self-assessment or recognition of accreditation under another approved quality system, and
  • A continuous improvement framework that supports the participation of people who use services in quality improvement.

The HSQF allows organisations, striving to demonstrate continuous improvement, to focus their resources on service provision. The HSQF is designed to reduce duplication and red tape while maintaining the important safeguards for people who use services and provide public confidence to the whole community. Find out more about this via Queensland Council of Social Service (QCOSS) Studio Q.

Is HSQF relevant to your organisation?

The HSQF applies to a range of human services organisations across Queensland including:

  • Organisations funded to deliver human services under service agreements, or other specified arrangements, with the Department of Communities, Disability Services and Seniors and the Department of Child Safety, Youth and Women.
  • Organisations funded by Queensland Health who have been advised that they may use the Human Services Quality Standards to meet Queensland Health quality certification requirements.
  • Organisations funded to deliver child protection placement services in-scope of licensing under an Individual Client Service agreement with DCSYW Child Related Costs Placement and Support (CRC-PAS).
  • Other organisations who apply to and are approved by the HSQF team.
  • Organisations funded by the Queensland Government Department of Housing and Public Works who use a modified version of the standards for its Specialist Homelessness Services.

To achieve certification, organisations must demonstrate compliance with the standards.

QIP Certifications provides certification against the HSQF and is committed to creating a value adding experience for service providers throughout their certification process.

The Human Services Quality Standards

The standards set a benchmark for service provision and cover six core elements:

1. Governance and management
Sound governance and management systems that maximise outcomes for stakeholders.

2. Services access
Sound eligibility, entry and exit processes facilitate access to services on the basis of relative need and available resources.

3. Responding to individual need
The assessed needs of the individual are being appropriately addressed and responded to within resource capacity.

4. Safety, wellbeing and rights
The safety, wellbeing and human and legal rights of people using services are protected and promoted.

5. Feedback, complaints and appeals
Effective feedback, complaints and appeals processes that lead to improvements in service delivery.

6. Human resources
Effective human resource management systems, including recruitment, induction and supervisory processes, result in quality service provision.

QIP Certifications provides health, community and human services organisations in Queensland certification options against the Human Services Quality Framework HSQF through an independent third-party audit.

Start your certification against the Human Services Quality Framework (HSQF) with QIP Certifications today